What is Tarot Coaching?

image1

Throughout the month of April and beginning of May, I was busy setting up my tarot reading shop and determining what type of services I’d like to offer. Although most of the spreads I chose are very effective and provide great feedback, I still felt like something was missing. So, I decided to go speak to a woman who regularly does intuitive readings (minus the cards) at a local shop in order to gain some more clarity. After only speaking to her for a few minutes, she looks up at me with a huge smile on her face and says, “Tarot coaching. I don’t know what that means, but that’s the direction you need to go in.” At first I was shocked. I thought, “Wow! That was oddly specific, especially since I hadn’t given her very much information beforehand.” It excited, yet confused me because although I now had some type of direction, I had ZERO clue as to what “tarot coaching” could possibly be.

After arriving home and letting my brain settle for a few hours, the lightbulb finally turned on and I knew exactly what the meaning of tarot coaching was and what it would mean for those who I would read for. Tarot coaching (TC) is a more interactive form of tarot reading and creates a collaborative relationship between the reader and the querent. A typical TC session can be either 30 or 60 minutes, must be face-to-face with the client (e.g. in-person or via Skype), consist of 3-4 cards in the spread, and is best for those who have questions about a specific issue and/or are at a cross-roads in some part of their life. Once the cards have been interpreted, the reader asks how the meanings of each card (or just the spread itself) relates to the client and both of them work together in order to figure out how that person can best move forward.

For example, let’s say I do a TC reading for someone who is conflicted about leaving their current job position in order to pursue a new career path, even though it may prove to be a big risk. The cards that pop up are the 8 of Cups, the Page of Pentacles, and the Wheel of Fortune, which tells me that they’ve been disappointed for a while, so much so that they’re willing to leave stability and security behind for something that brings them more emotional fulfillment. Currently, they’ve been coming up with a ton of new ideas in regards to a new project, business endeavor, education, etc. and if they act upon those ideas in a responsible, passionate, and dedicated manner, they may just prove to be successful. However, even though the Wheel can act in their favor as long as they have faith and remain open to the Universe, there are still some external factors that could easily swing it the other way, so any venture must be handled with great care and non-complacency.

image3

Then, with the help of Spirit, we’d discuss how they felt about the results of the reading and we’d subsequently work together to come up with the literal steps they could take in order to achieve their goal(s). During this time, we would also discuss the “pros and cons” of the client’s potential decision of leaving their current position and the resulting positive and negative consequences. Although my intuition is heavily used during this process, I at no point would ever dictate what choice they should officially make because it is ALWAYS up to the client. My job is to simply present them with a couple of alternative scenarios and what would need to be done depending on the decision they’d make.

Note: I also want to heavily emphasize that, as my disclaimer/terms of conditions state, if I believe or sense the situation calls for medical, psychological, financial, and/or legal counseling, I will recommend that you seek those sources out before making any important decisions. 

I think TC is a really special way to use the Tarot in order to help the client since it’s so personal to them and their situation. Sometimes after a reading is given, the querent may understand and immediately connect with the interpretation of the cards, but that doesn’t mean they know what to do with that information. By using the Tarot and actively collaborating with the client in relation to how their plans should be carried out, the more likely that the they will make the necessary changes in their lives and be confident in the direction that they’re heading in. As the reader, you’ll feel a sense of pride and accomplishment because you were able to help someone move forward after weeks, if not months, of feeling stagnated.

image2

So, if you’re interested, head over to the Tarot Readings section of this blog and make an appointment with me in order to receive guidance from the Tarot, myself, and Spirit, all of whom are ready, willing, and able to help you with whatever you need.

Love and Light,

Gypsy Rose (Jenna)

Untitled-2

 

Leave a Reply

