Beltane/May Day Tarot Reflections

Renaissance-Faire
Image from http://whitemagickalchemyblog.com/beltane-about/

Ah! It’s finally here! Beltane, otherwise known as May Day (you know, that holiday where you dance around the May Pole?), has arrived and I couldn’t be happier, even though it’s pretty rainy and gloomy outside here in the Piedmont of North Carolina. This day is all about growth, renewal, honoring life, and turning our hopes and dreams into reality. Plus, it signifies that Summer is right around the corner, and I don’t know about you, but I’m ready to leave Winter behind for a good, long, while.

In honor of this day, I thought I would do my daily reading with a spread that highlights its main attributes, which is putting our ideas into action. However, this isn’t always easy to do; you may have the plan, but that doesn’t mean you know how to execute it. That’s why I love Ethony’s Sacred Flowers of Beltane Tarot Spread because it does just that! Not only is the spread deep and meaningful, but it’s also pretty adorable since it’s in the shape of the May Pole and each position is named after the commonly associated flowers of Beltane.

Ethony-Beltane-Tarot-Spread-1024x870
Image from http://ethony.com/beltane-tarot-spread-sabbat-tarot-spread-series/

The first card (“Primrose”) is placed above all of the other cards and it asks what it is that still needs healing in our lives. The second (“Rowan”) and third (“Hawthorn”) are directly underneath Primrose (left and right, respectively) and requires us take responsibility and learn how to become “unstuck”, so we can move forward with our plans. The fourth (“Gorse”) card is below Rowan and Hawthorn and is placed in the center where it reveals what it is that needs to be given up in order to properly pursue our new goals. The 5th (“Hazel”) and 6th (“Marigold”) cards are placed on the left and right side of Gorse and compassionately shows us the doubts we may still have about this process and the strength that will help us to overcome those fears.

Just like the beginning of May, this spread felt like a breath of fresh air and was incredibly insightful. Below is the reading I did this morning. I hope you enjoy!

FullSizeRender (6)
Dreams of Gaia Tarot

What Do I Need To Heal? (4 of Air): Distractions and negative influences; old patterns and habits. Instead, establish a positive and productive routine that’s directly in line with your goals and projects.

What Do I Need To Take Responsibility For? (7 of Fire): Look within, trust intuition, and learn how to seek the answers you desire on your own.

How Can I Get Unstuck? (Queen of Air): Don’t let emotions cloud your judgment; be realistic and think things through carefully; use knowledge and intellect to plan, organize, and determine the best strategy to achieve your goals.

What Do I Need To Give Up On? (The Child): Self doubt, fear, worry; the idea that things are outside of my control (i.e. even if there’s not much I can do, I can still change my perspective towards it).

What Limitations Do I Still Believe? (The Sage): Self-defeating thoughts about not being knowledgeable enough or that I’m skilled and clumsy, especially in regards to my craft.

Where Can I Shine? (Ace of Water): Remove barriers and allow a loving experience/opportunity unfold that’s free of fear; use nervous excitement to pursue your heart’s desire and trust it will take you to where you need to go.

So, I encourage all of you to take some time to do a reading today that will bring light to whatever is going on in your life and use that information to help move you forward in the direction of love, prosperity, and abundance.

Love and light,

Jenna (Gypsy Rose)

Untitled-2

 

1 thought on “Beltane/May Day Tarot Reflections”

  1. Wonderful!! I truly enjoyed this post. I am still learning about Beltane and appreciate your call for us all to dedicate time reflecting on its healing and loving messages. Happy Mayday + Beltane Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

